RSS

GIRLS JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN: THE BEHIND THE SCENES FOLKS

05 May

The most noticed in the gay bar are the macho dancers of course. Next are the floor managers and the impersonators. There are other unsung behind the scenes employees though.

THE WAITERS

The waiters are often unnoticed unless they’re young and good looking. Waiters like that are often requested to dance and soon enough they turn into MDs. How about the waiters who are not MD-types?

Waiters often earn from food and drink commissions (apart from tips that are never at par with the tips the MDs get). They get a portion of the earnings from orders. I realized that belatedly. It suddenly made sense why Ben, our regular waiter in Earthling, was so eager to have us order food. It wasn’t because the MDs haven’t had a decent meal yet. It was so he, Ben, could earn from food commissions.

The waiters make good allies, mind you. They can be a little lenient or a little strict. They can also make sure the MD’s gin tonic is too harsh or just right. Ha-ha.

OTHER EMPLOYEES

I was in line at the solo occupancy ladies room in Numero last Friday the 13th. The girl inside seemed to be taking her sweet time. I ended up making conversation with the bar employee tasked to be usher and make sure the ladies find the loo and are safely in and outta there. When a lady tried to cut in, I tapped her and told her I was in line. I further told the lady that if she can’t hold it in anymore, the men’s room was unoccupied. The girl looked surprised and then she and her companion actually took my suggestion and went inside the men’s room. That scene happened twice. Another girl tried to cut in and I made the same suggestion which she heeded.

The employee manning the loos looked at me in surprise and told me I was feisty. I told him I was only reminding the people that there was a line and no one gets to cut in. I was merely asserting my rights as first in line. Ha-ha. Finally the girl inside the ladies room exited. There were two of them at the same time as it turned out. They were buds. I guess friends who go to the loo together stay together.

THE YAYAS

The girls and I made friends with one Yaya in Earthling. I even bought food for her during the times I was buying food for Luigi. Indeed the gay bar yayas are underappreciated and underpaid. I once witnessed Keith shouting at the poor Earthling yaya. Bad Keith.

The yayas are in charge of making sure the MDs are dressed properly and made up especially when there are production numbers. The yaya is also in charge of making sure the MDs are where they’re supposed to be when it’s their turn to dance. I first got to know the Earthling yaya we befriended when she’d approach Keith or Ramon now and then to remind then that one more song and then it’s their turn to dance. Jamie told me that they have to give a tip to the yaya whenever they get tabled and get tips from guests. Same goes for the floor manager, waiter and the DJ.

I later found out that the yaya in Saturn washes the bikinis of the MDs for 100 pesos a month per MD. Whattaway to make a living. The only consolation is that the yaya probably gets a kick out of being with such hot young men all the time. More often than not the yaya is a gay guy so it all the more factors in the dynamics.

DJ

I already mentioned the diskjockey or DJ in passing as someone who gets a tip from the MD. The DJ is important because he introduces the MD and even comes up with a monicker for the MD. MD X can be called “Mr Universe” and he can be known as such for the rest of his career.

I remember the Earthling DJ that Pipay warned me to stay away from. Ha-ha. Thanks for that one, Pipay.

CHOREOGRAPHER/ENTERTAINMENT MANAGER

They are usually impersonators themselves or started out as such. The better the choreographer the better the production numbers.


GUARDS

Oh yes the guards are important figures. They ensure safety against potential raiders, rude customers and rude MDs as well. In Earthling the girls and I are sort of friends with their head guard. Ha-ha.

UNSUNG HEROES

Indeed everyone should pitch in for a gay bar to succeed. It’s usually only the MDs that the guest remembers but there are many unsung heroes in the dark place with flickering lights and gyrating men.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
